## **Ceremonial Session**

Monday, Jan 10, 2005 9:00 - 11:15 AM

The session opened with a remembrance of Melba N. Phillips (1907 - 2004), first female president of the AAPT, and co-author of Classical Electricity and Magnetism with W. Panofsky.

Distinguished service citations were presented to Patricia Allen, George Amann, David Maloney and Robert Romer.

The AIP Science Writing Award for Children was presented to Marianne Dyson for her book Home on the Moon: Living in the Space Frontier.



The AIP Outstanding SPS Chapter Advisor Award was presented to Earl Blodgett of the University of Wisconsin at River Falls.

The Retiring Presidential Address was given by Jim Nelson, University High School, Orlando, FL. "For physics education to be healthy, it must be healthy at all levels, from elementary school to post-graduate."

The Innovative Physics Teaching Award was presented in absentia to Diana Hall, Bell High School, Ottawa, Ontario.

Incoming AAPT president Dick Peterson was introduced.

The Richtmeyer Memorial Award was presented to Dr. Carlos Bustamente of the University of California at Berkeley. His talk addressed measuring the torsional rigidity of DNA by direct measurement, including real-time movies of the measurements being taken.

The Oersted Medal Citation for notable contributions to the teaching of physics was presented to Eugene D. Cummins, University of California at Berkeley. His talk was titled "Those Who Inspired Me". "One of the best ways to sharpen our knowledge is to teach." "It is very frustrating that a theorist can construct a model in a hour that takes researchers 20 years to kill".